Free Movie April 15, 2013

 Jack Heckelman: A Story of Blessings

Linda and Jack's weddingIn lieu of an April MTN meeting, you are invited to a free screening of the award-winning documentary The Most Excellent Dying of Theodore Jack Heckelman. Join Jack’s wife, Linda Bergh, to view excerpts and hear the inspiring story of Jack’s conscious dying. Monday April 15, First Universalist Church, 3400 Dupont Ave. S., Minneapolis. 7-9pm. Cummins Room.Jack's flim no sticker

Johnathan Stedall, BBC film maker says, “I have seldom seen a film that captures so sensitively, and with such honesty and hope, the death of someone so loved and loving.”

For a 4-minute trailer of the movie, click here.

From Lisa Venable’s “In Sacred Service: Reflections on the Home Vigil for Jack Heckelman”: Linda greeted me with open arms and invited me into the space where Jack was being washed. I couldn’t believe my eyes. Real people (not morticians!) were actually caring and gently loving this dead body as if Singing & children at Jack's casketit were a newborn child just entering the world. There was no fear or unbearable grief, only nourishment. . . . I touched Jack’s forehead and heart and laid my head gently on his chest. “Thank you,” I whispered. “For being like a father to me and for showing me how to die so gracefully.”

For more of Lisa’s story and Jack & Linda’s journey, visit Beholding the Threshold.

For childcare at the April 15 event, contact Emma at emma@firstuniv.org or 612-825-8879 ext. 107 by April 7.

Leave a Reply

